Are we…

AreWewatching him walk into school today and I’m suddenly overcome with the question:

Are we asking him to take on too much responsibility? Are we allowing him to enjoy his childhood? Do we ask too much or expect too little? Where is the balance?!

I don’t know why this question made me weepy.  It shouldn’t.  I should be able to look at my life, analyze, make changes as needed and move forward. It is the way I have ALWAYS functioned.

But today, or better said, recently, anything involving him and the decisions WE make for him gets me choked up every time.

Are we doing enough? Are we doing it right?  Are we raising a kind, generous, respectful, fun-loving kid?  Are we modeling this attitude ourselves?

I am continually reminded by awesome God-lovin’ people that we are the parents to our kids for a reason. That God gives us what we need when we need it for them to grow and love in His way.  But I doubt. I know the doubt is not from God, but honestly I just want to parent the best I can…and find it hard to lovingly analyze anything without overwhelming emotion, then I don’t know what to do…I’ve never been this unable to “see” how to move forward. Maybe everything is going really well and I just can’t see it.  My heart is restless…I’m praying through it and waiting

Leave a Reply

